Welcome Sally.

• Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 24,821
Points 365,907
Kris replied on Thu, Jan 5 2012 7:26 PM

Hello Betty,

welcome to the group. I'm not a fan of EPP myself but would like to see some of your work.

• Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 24,821
Points 365,907
Kris replied on Thu, Jan 5 2012 7:29 PM

Welcome Mary. You've posted just right. Thanks for joining us.

Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 78
Points 1,100
Cathy J replied on Fri, Jan 6 2012 2:38 PM

I love the tree. I'm new to paper piecing but I'm loving it. I sat down the other day and played with a project I found on you tube. And last night I found some other blocks to use as practice.

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 16
Points 400
Vickie replied on Sun, Jan 15 2012 5:01 PM

Hi, I'm Vickie. I paper piece almost exclusively. I've been paper piecing since 2004.

The method for piecing the quadrants is to:

Use this method to join the blocks as well as the sections/quadrants of an individual block.

This method assumes the paper is still on the blocks and that the seam allowance is marked on the paper. If the seam marks are not on the paper, take the time to put a pencil point mark or an x that crosses exactly at the spot where the 1/4 " seams come together in the corners of the blocks. You also want to mark the 1/4" at any place where the sections/quadrants meet.

1 Line up the pieces the best you can.

2 Stab a pin straight through the top block/section/quadrant into the bottom block/section/quadrant right at the seam allowance corners where the two pieces are to join. Each pin only goes through each of the sections one time.

3. Place a pin in the same method at each matching point.

4. Carefully keeping the pins straight, slide a very fine pin into the block in the normal manner. At least one pin at each corner and matching point. You may add as many pins as you wish in between. Be very careful not to push the blocks out of alignment.

5 Install your walking foot