rated by 0 users
This post has 134 Replies | 44 Followers

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,720
Points 436,870
Nana replied on Sat, Sep 7 2013 11:25 AM

Maggie

You are going to be making HSTs out of all the fabrics.   I have never been able to keep directional fabrics all going the same way when I do HSTs.  But I don't mind having mine go different directions....LOL>

Vinton, Virginia

• Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 13
Points 155
Sarah replied on Sat, Sep 7 2013 12:27 PM

I'm new to this blogging stuff.  Not sure what HSTs are, but a long-time quilter.  Doing this for fun - cause I need some of that right now.  I thought that I'd just buy a background fabric at the quilt shop, but when I got there my mind changed!  I saw a great print in the sale section that I chose for border.  Have since changed my mind and gone with another fabric.  My 3 chosen fabrics are a peachy orange, mottled green and a purple/orange battik. I may get behind in my sewing because our guild's quilt show is the end of this month.

• Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 13
Points 155
Sarah replied on Sat, Sep 7 2013 12:28 PM

Oh, yea, Half Square Triangles.  I already figured that out from the cutting directions!

Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,578
Points 47,535
Debbie-do replied on Sat, Sep 7 2013 12:39 PM

Nana, just to confirm... when the 2 triangles have been sewn together, the block they make will be 3 1/2" x 3 1/2" ?

Do you think these will work?  The half white leaf at the top on the far left fabric is 1 3/4" from side to side.

Southwest of San Antonio

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,031
Points 13,120

Duh!  I was just thinking directional. LOL. I guess I had not had enough coffee when i asked this question. 😝

aka Grandma Sunshine

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 13
Points 155
Sarah replied on Sat, Sep 7 2013 12:49 PM

I took the fabric outside and took another picture.  Makes a world of difference in the true colors!  Here they are:

• Post Points: 50