rated by 0 users
This post has 299 Replies | 58 Followers

Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,577
Points 23,915
Susie replied on Thu, Sep 5 2013 8:59 AM

eparys:

OK ladies - here is the BIG confession. I am a Mathematician who can not let go of the total control of the colors of the quilt (I also do not do random scrappy - lol) . I spend many hours on EQ auditioning colors, so this will be an interesting change for me.

Lol, Betty!  I TRIED to do the scrappy last summer with Nana.  However, mine ended up all black & white.  I had to go out & buy the fabric...just couldn't get myself to go scrappy.  I'm still really horrible about letting go of my control issues.  So, I now consider it a controlled scrappy!

I was looking at my fabrics last night for a bit and I'm really not sure if I have enough large pieces to do this without buying fabric.  I think I have 4 different fabrics that have 2 yards, but nothing at the 3 yard.  Most of my fabric is 1 yard or less...I may end up buying some new stuff for this one.

Chicagoland, Illinois

• Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 111
Points 2,565
eparys replied on Thu, Sep 5 2013 9:35 AM

Susie:
Lol, Betty!  I TRIED to do the scrappy last summer with Nana.  However, mine ended up all black & white.  I had to go out & buy the fabric...just couldn't get myself to go scrappy.  I'm still really horrible about letting go of my control issues.  So, I now consider it a controlled scrappy!

Susie - I know what you are talking about. I did a DP9 last year and bought a fat quarter bundle. Broke the bundle into rusts/browns and golds/oranges - added a few fabrics from the stash so that I had 11 diff  rusts/browns and 9 diff golds/oranges  cut the stacks into squares and carefully stacked them so they were in order. then took the squares off the top of the stacks one at a time. The quilt looks VERY random - but - lol - it wasn't at all!!

This will be a hard quilt for me but I'm doing it!!

Betty