Discussion and Questions re Step 5

rated by 0 users
This post has 194 Replies | 39 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 21
Points 410
Teri replied on Fri, Apr 19 2013 11:06 PM

I am new, in more ways than one.  Decided to try something other than charm squares. My blocks are not going together nicely at all. The points in my HST don't come to the top like the photos I  have seen. My lines with the next row don't match up. Yet everything measured just as the directions called for. Wonder where I went wrong?

• Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 14
Points 265

Nana,

Thoughts and prayers for you and your DH.  Just want to know if there is a specific way to press the HST once they are sewn to the 9 patch-strip-9 patch block and how should we press the HST  double units, toward the middle or toward the end HST??  Thanks for the advise.  This is my first time doing any sort of mystery quilt, let alone one done on line.  Also, did I mention that I decided to do 3 of them and so far am doing OK and up to date with all the blocks for all 3 of them.  Thanks again for all the help.

Kathy in MI.

• Post Points: 35
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,530
Points 46,505
Debbie-do replied on Fri, Apr 19 2013 11:47 PM

Beautiful work, ladies.  Aren't these small pieces just a little nerve wracking!!?  I found using a stilletto helped a lot keeping things in place as I stitched.  Here's mine  with the background I've picked out.

Southwest of San Antonio

• Post Points: 50
Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 417
Points 10,440
Donna replied on Sat, Apr 20 2013 12:05 AM

Trimming of Hsts done.  Fingers sore.  lol.  Going to bed now,  will start sewing tomorrow.

• Post Points: 5
Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 151
Points 3,005
Sandy replied on Sat, Apr 20 2013 1:30 AM

Debbie-do:
I found using a stilletto helped a lot

yep those always worked for me  LOL  

sorry it is very late here 

Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 151
Points 3,005
Sandy replied on Sat, Apr 20 2013 1:37 AM

Teri: