rated by 0 users
This post has 6 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 22
Points 530
BenAdmin Posted: Sat, Nov 26 2011 11:00 PM

Hello group!

I'm very new at the embroidery thing with my Pfaff, and I'm having some troubles I hope some of you might have answers to.  My bobbin thread seems to be breaking a lot.  The problem that I can see, is that the bobbin is spinning onto the spindle in the center of the bobbin case. 

I tried adjusting the bobbin case, but then my bobbin threads were coming up through the material.  Yuck!

I'm using  a medium tear-away stabilizer behind the fabric

I am using YLI bobbin thread, a brand new embroidery needle, and my machine was recently serviced. 

I thought of trying different bobbin thread, and maybe a dedicated bobbin case for just embroidery.  Any other thoughts?

Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,221
Points 41,055
Donna B replied on Sun, Nov 27 2011 12:30 PM

Hi CaroQuilts,  I don't have a Pfaff (I have a Bernina 200E), but I have had this problem when my bobbin is "fully loaded".  (Not what I consider too full, and not to the point that the auto-bobbinwinder shuts off.)  But, I have found if I don't load the bobbins as full, I do not have the problem of the thread spinning onto the spindle as you described.  You might try this and see if it helps. 

Donna B

Winthrop, WA

• Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,002
Points 13,060

Hello CaroQuilts. I may have a solution to your bobbin problem. Hope this helps

Most probable: OK so the Phaff uses just Phaff bobbins other bobbins will not fit properly. You cannot use a class 15 or 60 because they sit too high in the shuttle. When the top thread comes around the shuttle to catch the bobbin thread it is swiping the thread to the top of the bobbin case instead of smoothly sliding the thread across the top of the shuttle to bring the thread up to the stitch.