That PERFECT STITCH

rated by 0 users
This post has 14 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 169
Points 2,200
Flo Posted: Fri, Mar 22 2013 12:15 PM

I just received a copy of "That Perfect Stitch" by Diedra McElroy.  Being a self taught quilter I didn't know just how much I was doing wrong!  I am working with it now on scraps and hopefully soon my stitches will be even!

• Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 23,839
Points 352,757
Kris replied on Fri, Mar 22 2013 11:52 PM

Flo,

I hope you share some of your samples with us. I've added the book to my wish list.

• Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 169
Points 2,200
Flo replied on Sat, Mar 23 2013 12:27 PM

I plan to share my progress.  After a few days pf practice my stitches are starting to even out.  When my husband was on Amazon looking for reloading books I just added it to the cart!   

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,019
Points 12,865

Flo, sneaky. Hahaha

aka Grandma Sunshine

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 3,299
Points 45,925
Angele replied on Fri, Mar 29 2013 7:26 AM

Flo, I'm curious, who wrote The Perfect Stitch?

Angèle  from NWO

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 23,839
Points 352,757
Kris replied on Fri, Mar 29 2013 9:16 AM

Angele,

Flo mentioned it in her post. Diedra somebody.

• Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 53
Points 940

Roxanne McElroy wrote "That Perfect Stitch."  However, she died just a few months before it was published.  Her daughter Diedre McElroy finished the book and has been carrying on her mother's work.  This is the book from which I learned to hand quilt.  Diedre has published a DVD.  It's basically the same as the book with some updated info on tools.  The benefit here is that you can see her doing the stitch.  Check out Roxanne's thimbles.  They are great!  Colonial Needle Company now carries full line of Roxanne products.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 23,839
Points 352,757
Kris replied on Sun, Mar 31 2013 11:21 PM