Introduce Yourself!

rated by 0 users
This post has 28 Replies | 17 Followers

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,935
Points 778,245
QCA Admin Posted: Wed, Jan 5 2011 9:54 AM

Please tell us a bit about yourself and what attracted you to making this quilt!

• Post Points: 200
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 8
Points 100

Hi all. My name is Toby Lischko. I am a quilt designer, teacher, and award winner and I have been quilting since 1985. I started getting my quilts published in 1998 and work with many of the fabric companies and magazine editors. I teach workshops of varying difficulties and specialize in curved piecing and foundation piecing. I am thrilled that my Civil War Sampler was chosen to do a special segment on the QCA website!

When I was presented with the fabric line by RJR I wanted to do a sampler to make the best use of many of the fabrics in the collection by Pat Nickols. I had never had a sampler published before and I wanted to make sure that the blocks were traditional to the era. I did online research and checked through my block references to find the right blocks. I used EQ7 to move the fabrics around for the best use of each print. I did get help piecing the quilt by my friend Dolores Keaton. (I tend to take on more projects than I can finish by myself!)

I have a website www.gatewayquiltsnstuff.com along with a blog and facebook page with links on my website. I have two other patterns with this line called Jacob's Ladder and Stars and Stripes. I'll be happy to answer any questions from the group. 

• Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 31
Points 345
FP Diane replied on Wed, Jan 5 2011 11:14 AM

I'm Diane Tomlinson, Assistant Editor here at Fons & Porter  and love having my passion as a job also!