Newbie introduction

rated by 0 users
This post has 5 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 4
Points 140
MrsBecky Posted: Wed, Dec 5 2012 1:59 PM

Hi everyone.. wanted to introduce myself.  My name is Becky and I have been quilting and embroidering for a few years now but am still a newbie at free motion.  I have 2 machines..a Brother SE 400 which is my  little work horse and I also have a Viking Diamond which gives me a lot of headache.  I usually use a friend's long arm quilter for my large projects, however when the holidays approach, I find myself doing much smaller pieces so I am trying to learn to do free motion on my own machines.  Oh what a headache right now.  Today I learned (from this site) that I can use my embroidery foot on my brother to do FMQ, but I am really having a time using my Viking.  The thread keeps breaking so I thought maybe the tension was too tight.  I have played around with that, tried using new thread, rewound the bobbin, reload the bobbin, rethread the machine, you  name it, I've done it.  My second issue with this is the back of the piece looks like railroad tracks.. (my fancy untechnical term).    I am down to my last hair before I go completely bald, (or insane).  I will keep plugging away at it until I decide to run it over with my pick up truck.  So there you have it, my introduction and would love to know how to correct my issues on my Viking...      

• Post Points: 80
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,443
Points 127,624

The only thing I could think of you have not tried is to adjust the presser foot, my brain is not working right now and cannot come up with the word, but lower the number...

Life is like a quilt...bits & pieces, joy & sorrow, stitched with love

• Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,443
Points 127,624

MrsBecky:
My second issue with this is the back of the piece looks like railroad tracks.. (my fancy untechnical term).

Missed this, that would be a tension problem...