Hints on how to make the loops larger without loosing the loopiness

rated by 0 users
This post has 20 Replies | 7 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,059
Points 13,715
Carey Posted: Sun, Aug 14 2011 11:40 PM

Anyone have any hints or suggestions on how to make the loops larger without losing the loops themselves.  When I try to make them larger they turn more into circles at times.

• Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 13,606
Points 178,433
Marie replied on Mon, Aug 15 2011 9:28 AM

Carey, I'm no expert by any means.  All I know is with practice you'll get a rhythm between your speed and how fast you are moving the fabric.  I'm sure some of our practiced FMQers will have some advice for you.  I looked at your practice pieces and I see what you mean about circles and not e's but keep on practicing and don't give up until you master it, you're in control.  Good luck!

Millbury, MA

• Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 162
Points 3,675
Laura replied on Thu, Aug 18 2011 11:50 PM

Carey, I have found that if I practice first on paper with a pencil and get into the rhythm then it's easier to go to the machine and start practicing. Another thing you can do is draw your design out on your fabric with a light pencil or a fade away pen, then follow that for a bit and then just go on your own once you get into the swing of it.

Asking a quilter to mend something is like asking Picasso to paint your garage.

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,059
Points 13,715
Carey replied on Fri, Aug 19 2011 9:13 AM

Hmm good suggestions. Thank you Laura.

Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,270
Points 35,195
Granny M replied on Wed, Aug 31 2011 6:53 PM