EQ7 Class Quilt University

rated by 0 users
This post has 378 Replies | 15 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 65
Points 1,090
Starling replied on Thu, Oct 11 2012 8:12 AM

Judy, what I love about your quilt is the secondary patterns. That is the kind of thing I'd like to learn how to do. I know understand how some quilt effects are managed that just boggled my mind before I started playing with EQ. Things like controlling gradients across a quilt, or the two block and three block quilts that end up being a lot more than you would expect it to be. Quilts like yours.

Starling

Please visit my blog at http://walkinglifespathagain.blogspot.com/

• Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,086
Points 31,520
Lillie replied on Thu, Oct 11 2012 8:20 AM

Starling:

I think the problem might be that if you are going to cut half square triangles out of squares, you need to make the squares 7/8 inch larger, not 1/2 inch larger. That alone will give you the difference you are seeing in your sample block.

You also might want to make the sample blocks out of scraps instead of muslin. You will see what the block really ought to look like that way, and you end up with a usable block for some small project in the future.

Oh Starling, this was a different block from the one that HSTs. This one just had squares. This was a stock block from the library and I made no changes to it other than the print menu.

On the first block, I figured out after the fact,  that I needed to add 7/8 to the size of the squares to have the HSTs come out to the correct size. lol

northern colorado

• Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 24,975
Points 368,777
Kris replied on Thu, Oct 11 2012 6:17 PM

Lillie,

which block were you trying to make? 7.25 is an unusual block size. You should round to the nearest eighth instead of quarter inch. This is what I tried to explain in an earlier post. Your block may have better suited for templates than for rotary cutting.

Top 10 Contributor
Female