rated by 0 users
This post has 54 Replies | 13 Followers

Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,642
Points 61,800
Jacy Posted: Tue, Jan 7 2014 9:25 PM

Another fairly easy applique one. 

Here's a TUTORIAL with one method of doing applique. I do mine with freezer paper too but I iron it onto the right side of the fabric and then draw a pencil line around the freezer paper before I remove it. Then I have a guide line for turning my fabric under.

I cut my background a little bigger and trimmed it to 5" when I was done with the applique.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 23,798
Points 352,027
Kris replied on Wed, Jan 8 2014 12:36 AM

Awesome fussy cuts Jacy.

Needle turn appliqué:

Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,324
Points 19,935

Pretty block, Jacy and Kris.  I'm very new to applique, so I'll probably try to do satin-stitch again.  It worked well for me on the bachelor buttons.  

Jacy, when I saw yours, I thought you had applique'd those umbrella girls on there!!  So yeah, nice fussy cuts.  :)

Raleigh, NC

• Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,642
Points 61,800
Jacy replied on Wed, Jan 8 2014 11:28 AM

Thanks Kris and Carolyn, the fussy cuts were fun to do.

Carolyn (CarolBeau):
I'm very new to applique, so I'll probably try to do satin-stitch again.

Carolyn, there's nothing wrong with machine applique, it's usually my first choice. I'm trying to do these with hand applique but I bet I will do some with the machine.

• Post Points: 5
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 5,104
Points 110,180

Jacy, your fussy cuts are wonderful. Hope you don't mind if I use your idea.

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 5,104
Points 110,180

Shoot, this came out a bit big. When I sew the blocks together it's going to chop off the tips. I'll probably do it over but not right now. I needle turn appliqued this.

• Post Points: 35
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,642
Points 61,800
Jacy replied on Wed, Jan 8 2014 7:49 PM

Nice fussy cuts Judy!