rated by 0 users
This post has 6 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 2
Points 70
Brenda Posted: Sun, Sep 6 2015 4:35 PM

Hi,

I've been quilting for most of my 57 years. I started with applique quilts, then I discovered crazy quilting a few years ago. I'm currently taking a free on-line course from Kathy Shaw, (http://www.shawkl.com/p/crazy-quilt-courses.html),  it's a beginners class on crazy quilting. I'm learning so much-it's wonderful. Is this group focused more on crazy quilting or on art quilts? I'm interested in both, I love your term crazy art quilter. Thanks for letting me join.

• Post Points: 35
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 484
Points 8,375

Welcome Brenda!

I think we are more focused on CQ rather than art.. Several of the members have created some wonderful art in their CQ adventures. Last year we did an exchange with some of the members. One woman created an Etui. Participants CQ'd specific areas of the Etui as the project was sent from person to person.

One year, participants exchanged Christmas Tree ornaments and one of them was a double sided woman's bustier and the other side was a gentleman's vest. Very clever.

Thank you for the link. I will check it out as soon as I can.

Have you heard of Allie Aller? She is very well known in the CQ world. She has a very inexpensive class on Craftsy. Check it out if you have the time. I enrolled in this class and really learned a lot.

Of course, the women on this site are so helpful and have tons of experience. Don't hesitate to ask questions. Someone will have the answer or direct you to a web site that does.

• Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 2
Points 70
Brenda replied on Sun, Sep 6 2015 8:57 PM

Thanks for the welcome, I appreciate it.

I have a couple of Allie Aller's books, and I took her class on Craftsy. I reread her Crazy Quilting periodically and always pick up something new. Her quilts leave me speechless, just so imaginative and gorgeous.