rated by 0 users
This post has 23 Replies | 3 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 200
Points 3,280
Lilian Posted: Sun, Nov 15 2009 12:08 AM

Hello out there:

Although I'm a Charter Member, I'm really new to these QCA groups, forums, blogs, etc., and still haven't gotten a handle on reading and posting.  So, if it sounds as though I'm fumbling around, I am.  I'm also a new member to the Dear Jane group, but a crazy quilt block or larger quilt can be done before we get started on the DJ project in January.

Just happened to see this CQGroup listed and wanted to know what  the Game Plan is for  this group.  That is, deadlines, specific ideas, or any other information I should be aware of concerning this group's procedures/plans..   I've already made a few crazy quilts, but I am beginning to enjoy the camaraderie that can evolve in quilt classes and these types of projects with like-minded participants. 

I couldn't read any of the messages to find out what you all are about unless I joined the group.  So here I am.  Looking forward to hearing what you have in mind.

Lilian

P.S.  Do you all have just a small area when typing messages?  I have to go to "Preview" to read what I've typed, and that just slows up the works.   

• Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,584
Points 54,526
Sandy H. replied on Thu, Nov 19 2009 6:04 PM

Hi Lilian. 

I don't think we have any specific plans for the group as yet.  It appears there are only a few of us in the group and it also appears that you are the most experienced crazy quilter in the group.  Would you like to organize some type of a "class" to help us newbies get started?  Just something basic, like how to select fabrics, what type of backing should we use, how to attach the fabrics to the backing.  It could be like the mystery quilt where you would give us one step at a time to lead us through the construction of one block.  Then if all goes well you might help us combine our blocks into a small quilt.