rated by 0 users
This post has 5,485 Replies | 12 Followers

Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,134
Points 42,605
Diane replied on Thu, Oct 11 2012 6:11 PM

Robin:
  People in general don't trust each other anymore so it's a sign of the times.

I had to have performance evaluations every 6 months as a nurse.  My supervisor was watching all the time.  I think the quality is better with evaluations in general.  You know people take advantage of the system when they can.  I graduated from HS in 1971 and I can remember a lot of bad teachers who just didn't teach.  It's a necessary tool to maintain standards.  As a nurse, I went through loads of changes through out the years of them "trying" things.  It's all part of trying to improve and lots of it is trial and error.

Well, it's a pain but overall it's necessary.

• Post Points: 5
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,134
Points 42,605
Diane replied on Thu, Oct 11 2012 6:22 PM

I started nursing in 1971---graduated from HS in 1968.  I remember asking to transfer out of one English teacher's class because he was so bad.  And my homeroom teacher was so lame. It was psychology and he must have been working on further education because he just read and never taught unless the speaker got turned on by the office and they listened in.

I know that you are a good teach Robin because you care about your job just like I did.  The evaluations are not for people like you.

• Post Points: 20
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 3,074
Points 66,420
Robin replied on Fri, Oct 12 2012 4:51 AM

Oh Diane, I agree there are bad teachers and some days some of my students think I'm one of them.  (I'm sure).