rated by 0 users
This post has 7 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 32
Points 775
Louise Posted: Fri, Dec 2 2011 2:50 PM

What I would like to know has any every made one using
brocades, oriental silks, velvets etc fabric?

Would a foundation fabric be needed when using these
kinds of fabrics?

Are they machine washable? or would it be best to dry clean
only?

What would be a good size to make?

Any other valuable information would be great.

I have been collecting fabrics like this for a few years and
someday I HOPE to make one, but I am scared of ruining
my fabrics.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

• Post Points: 50
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,561
Points 139,563

Hi Louise,

I am still new to this but will answer as I can from what I have learned so far ....

Louise:
What I would like to know has any every made one using
brocades, oriental silks, velvets etc fabric?

The two projects I have been working on have a combination of these fabrics and some cotton.  You can mix them up however you want.

Louise:
Are they machine washable? or would it be best to dry clean
only?

I would not consider machine washing as the agitation of the washer may damage some of your fabrics and embellishments. Dry cleaning is also not a good option if you use beads, sequins, some buttons also don't take to chemicals. A gentle Hand washing is best. You can test small pieces of your fabrics for waterfastness.

Louise:
What would be a good size to make?

I think  a 10 to 12 inch block is a good size to showcase several fabrics, and give you some decent size areas to embellish.

Louise:
I have been collecting fabrics like this for a few years and
someday I HOPE to make one, but I am scared of ruining
my fabrics.

Why not do a practice using cotton first? They're easy to handle for a beginning block.

Louise:
Would a foundation fabric be needed when using these
kinds of fabrics?