Tried a new scrappy project

rated by 0 users
This post has 46 Replies | 14 Followers

Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 348
Points 27,200
Darlene Posted: Sat, Aug 4 2012 9:36 AM

I was so inspired by the June scrappy project that I bought a magazine of scrappy projects and this is my first project from there.

I will confess that this is a very controlled scrappy because I only used 8 fabrics and was very selective in the placement of my pieces when making my rows.

Lots of fun and I will be doing this again with more abandon and less control.  Probably only control I will not give up is that I frogged a few times because I rotated triangles when joining and ripped out so that the strip sets all faced the same.  A dear friend made one with me and she chose to leave her turned pieces in.  She thought it added to the finished product.  I am still too OCD to let go that much.

Working on the quilting now. 

Darlene

from Western New York

• Post Points: 140
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 5,779
Points 122,400

Darlene:

I was so inspired by the June scrappy project that I bought a magazine of scrappy projects and this is my first project from there.

Darlene, this is really beautiful! Wonderful fabrics and pattern.

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

• Post Points: 5
Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 366
Points 6,475
Helen replied on Sat, Aug 4 2012 9:50 AM

Beautiful quilt Darlene!  Colors are so cheerful!

Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,316
Points 18,480

Very pretty, bright colors Darlene! I really like this a lot.

Piece, Love, Quilt

• Post Points: 20
Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,356
Points 31,985

Great job, Darlene!  Love the bright colors...looks like you used more than just eight the way they move around.

Max

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 120
Points 2,040

Very pretty!! Love the pattern and your color choices!

MaryAnn

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 24,948
Points 368,262
Kris replied on Sat, Aug 4 2012 9:59 PM