Do you have some Bargello Instructions for beginners?

rated by 0 users
This post has 10 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 371
Points 6,495
Arzella Posted: Tue, Mar 6 2012 6:43 PM

Do you have a pattern or basic instructions you would like to share with a beginner Bargello Quilter?  If so, this is the place to do it......

• Post Points: 20
Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 371
Points 6,495
Arzella replied on Sat, Mar 31 2012 10:00 PM

I just wanted to let any beginner know that you can learn how to do bargello quilts at Quilt University online. 

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 763
Points 16,095
Joy replied on Thu, Apr 5 2012 12:23 AM

As a beginner I would love some tips, advice, instructions! Would anyone like to share?

Joy

Mooresville, NC

Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 102
Points 1,635
Gail71 replied on Thu, Apr 5 2012 2:36 PM

Hi Joy,

When you are making the panels that you use to make your design, sew the strips together in pairs.  Press them all in the same direction.  Sew the pairs together in the opposite direction so that you don't have a big rainbow and press them in the opposite direction so that the seams "next" together when making the design.  When  making the design, don't cut the strips more than 1/4" wider than the preceeding one.  That keeps the design flowing.  Hopefully this will get you started.  Oops, guess that you have to select fabric first.  Make sure that it steps in value.  Solids sometimes look like a headlight so I try to use patterned pieces.  Surely others might have other things that would help.  I tell students that there is no right way, just what works best for you.  If you want to see my latest one, go to www.haletomaterialgirlsnh.blogspot.com  Gail in NH 

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 763
Points 16,095
Joy replied on Mon, Apr 9 2012 10:34 AM