What Bargello project are you working on?

rated by 0 users
This post has 31 Replies | 9 Followers

Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 610
Points 9,025
MaggieNae replied on Tue, Feb 14 2012 1:32 PM

I think 10-12 is a good number to start with.  I doing my first one with 18.  I would say, stick to an even number, just 'cause.

• Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 7
Points 185
JHowson replied on Tue, Feb 14 2012 2:14 PM

Thanks Margaret...never took in consideration even number. Thanks.

Judy

Judy

• Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 12
Points 90
jobago replied on Thu, Feb 16 2012 1:31 PM

I am new to Bargello Quilting.  My first project will be a king size self designed curve as a wedding present.  I have finished reading the directions included in the book by Marge Edie.  Her directions seem clear and I'm looking forward to getting started.  I will be using all batiks.  Mostly in all values of blues with some medium value yellow/golds and a touch of dark value magenta. I am using 15 fabrics.  I have washed all the fabrics and am starting work on drawing the curve.  Have you had any experience using batiks in bargello?

Just wondering if I should expect problems.  Also do you recommend using Best Press to prepare the fabric for cutting?

I think this group is a great idea and a powerful way to exchange info and our experiences!q

Joni

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 39
Points 460

Very ambitious for first Bargello. The batiks should look nice. I never used anything to add to the fabric. Pressing was enough

Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 610
Points 9,025
MaggieNae replied on Tue, Feb 21 2012 2:52 PM

Judy, how's it going?  How many fabrics are you using for your bargello? 

Not Ranked
Posts 7
Points 185
JHowson replied on Wed, Feb 22 2012 5:45 PM

Hi Margaret,