rated by 0 users
This post has 91 Replies | 16 Followers

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 7,214
Points 111,970
Linny t replied on Mon, Aug 6 2012 7:10 PM

Emily:

Thank you, Linny.  I ordered the freezer paper.  I also use the 100 wt silk thread.  I find it is the best for applique because it sinks right into the fabric.  I knot the thread next to the needle hole so the thread doesn't keep slipping through the hole.  Works perfectly. 

I do that, too, Emily.  It makes sewing with it possible.  It's like threading human hair, so the less I have to do that, the better, lol. 

Linny T

• Post Points: 5
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 7,214
Points 111,970
Linny t replied on Mon, Aug 6 2012 7:50 PM

Bren, I've been appliqueing on and off for many years, but needleturned the Country Cousins blocks, thanks to Gini's motivation and a woman who demonstrated at a quilt show.  I used to do freezer paper on the back with lots of starch and many burnt fingertips.  I also got tired of having to cut the back to get the paper out.

I like to trace the pattern on the background so that when I go to sew I can focus more on my stitches.  I use a white Sewline ceramic pencil on the darks/mediums and a fine line water soluable blue ben on the lights.  Works for me.  I know some use pencil, but I'm not that brave or good yet.  What do you use?

I like the thought of the bobbin ring.  I could see where that would be really convenient.  I have tubes for the YLI threads.  I have one short one that holds 6 spools and it fits perfectly in my hussif.  I rarely need more colors than that.  I have seen where teachers recommend other threads and have tried a few.  I really like how the silk acts and feels, so I use it all the time.  Maybe I'll give my bobbin winder a little work out and put some YLI on bobbins in a ring.  Thanks for the tip.

Gini is my applique role model :)

Linny T

• Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 70
Points 1,185
breinkc replied on Mon, Aug 6 2012 9:23 PM