GENERAL DISCUSSION

rated by 0 users
This post has 1,337 Replies | 51 Followers

Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,232
Points 17,875
Sheila replied on Fri, Sep 21 2012 8:35 AM

Barbara - I wanted to ask you whether you finished what you were working on at the NE Ohio retreat. The pumpkin thing???

• Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 19,778
Points 248,014
Barbara replied on Sun, Sep 23 2012 9:53 AM

Shelia, I got the block finished I jut need to add alittle embleishment to it . I have not done the other one yet , Have had other things to do first . 

Liberty,Missouri

EAT!! SLEEP !! QUILT!!

• Post Points: 35
Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 703
Points 11,570
Bev replied on Sun, Sep 23 2012 11:04 AM

To all,

Do any of you use a muslin for appilque or is it always a mottled /print fabric?

from TN

• Post Points: 50
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,508
Points 48,175
Frances replied on Sun, Sep 23 2012 1:33 PM

Bev,

Sorry im not much help, im a beginner but i havent used muslin, mines a cotton slightly mottled, when Gini gets on here she will tell you if its feasable or not.

lots of love

Francesxx

• Post Points: 5
Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,059
Points 21,150
Carol W replied on Sun, Sep 23 2012 5:34 PM

Bev :

To all,

Do any of you use a muslin for appilque or is it always a mottled /print fabric?

Hi Bev, I have used muslin many times for the background of my applique work.  I just make sure it is a good quality muslin and not the real thin stuff.  It's great - just depends on the look you want.

Carol W. in Arkansas

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,467
Points 416,884
gini replied on Sun, Sep 23 2012 10:46 PM

hi bev,  yes, i have used mulin, carol nailed it,   use a good quality muslin. 

i've made a couple of baltimore style quilts on muslin.   i prefer now to have a subtle pattern in the background.

gini in north idaho

Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,232
Points 17,875
Sheila replied on Mon, Sep 24 2012 8:18 AM

Bev :

To all,