machine applique

rated by 0 users
This post has 12 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 11
Points 150
Cora Jo Ciampi Posted: Mon, Mar 21 2011 8:43 AM

Okay, friends, I'm relatively new at machine applique and found it more of a challenge than I anticipated.

Any tips welcome!!! cora jo

• Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,509
Points 417,524
gini replied on Mon, Mar 21 2011 10:32 AM

ho cora jo, welcome.   what part are you having trouble with or are you having trouble starting  : ) ?   are you using a blind button hole with clear thread or are you using matching thread.   are you doing turned edge, or raw edge?      gini

gini in north idaho

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,509
Points 417,524
gini replied on Mon, Mar 21 2011 10:34 AM

practice turning corners before you get started.    if your buttonhole is catching on the left, drop your needle at the point on the right swing of the stitch and rotate your fabric.   you will have a couple of extra stitches at the point, but when you figure out how to time it   the stitches will look fine.    gini

gini in north idaho

• Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 11
Points 150

I have done a goodly amount of hand applique and love it. Recently, I made a table cloth with lots of applique which I COULD  have done by hand...but, I thought I would just machine it. Oh ya.  Took me ages...lots of flowers on flowers with centers...leaves...you get the picture. It called for raw edge applique. I used the blanket stitch on my mahine. I just felt it could have looked more ... tidy?

• Post Points: 50
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,509
Points 417,524
gini replied on Tue, Mar 22 2011 9:56 AM

good morning cora,  did you fuse the pieces down first,   that seems to make the edges neater.  if you are making a piece that will not need laundering, with the use of fusables you can do a staight stitch around the edges.   gini

gini in north idaho

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 66
Points 1,810