Country Cottages Block 1

rated by 0 users
This post has 219 Replies | 24 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 901
Points 16,685

Welcome Raewyn. I'm a beginner too.   I use silk thread & love it.  I have both Clover & Madeira brands & have seen how they really disappear into the fabric.  I have heard that Aurifil is also an excellent thread.  I'm sure others here will offer their recommendation.  

Looking forward to seeing your blocks.

• Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,407
Points 415,669
gini replied on Sun, Mar 10 2013 11:52 PM

hi raewyn,  i like to use 60 wt. cotton.   aurifil is also good.  silk is a little harder for beginners because it is slick. but it is wonderful to use.  precencia is a good thread, too.

gini in north idaho

• Post Points: 5
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,086
Points 31,520
Lillie replied on Mon, Mar 11 2013 7:32 AM

Hi Raewyn and Welcome,

I use silk thread when doing needle turn. For me, it just glides through the fabric. I have friends that use Aurifil and they love it. I have never tried anything but silk.

northern colorado

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 23
Points 450
Raewyn replied on Tue, Mar 12 2013 4:25 AM

Well I went to a quilt store in Sydney today called Logans Patchwork (One of my favourites) and bought some background fabric, some visefix (like heat and bond they told me) needles and embroidery thread something called an applique mat and a new marking pen I have heaps of scrap to use and some wool felt too. Margaret Kirkby who owns the shop is such a lovely lady. Gave me a heap of free advice. I have attended Margarets talks at the Sydney Quilt Show and her love and passion for quilting oozes from her it's quite infectious. She makes gorgeous quilts too! So I'm ready to start come Saturday (bummer working fulltime sometimes) I don't think I'll be as fast as most of you girls but I'm happy to plod along and ask dumb questions as I go. Thanks in advance :)

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,086
Points 31,520