Country Cottages Block 1

rated by 0 users
This post has 219 Replies | 24 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 924
Points 17,125
Patricia Faye Posted: Fri, Mar 1 2013 8:07 AM

Welcome to Country Cottages Block 1.  I'm a beginner & have taken 1 class at my LQS to learn the basics.  I've also used many of the references/tutorials Gini has provided us along with her wonderful advise/suggestions.  I hope everyone enjoys these blocks s much as I do.

The Cottages for these blocks have a lot of straight lines that make them fairly simple, but the rest of the block may offer a few challenges for a beginner, but don't despair.  Consider each an opportunity to increase your skills.  

So for Block 1 I experienced 3 challenges: (1) all the curves  (V's) of the roof trim,  (2) the tiny little carrot nose of the snowman, and (3) the detail on the house. (1) I referred to several tutorials on how to do the V's and ended up ripping it out several times before I was happy with it.  We'll get lots of practice with these since they are on each of the cottages!  (2) The carrot nose was difficult because it is so tiny!  I think it took me 2 tries to get it right. I don't like tiny pieces.   I know I need stronger lenses for my glasses when I can hardly see where to place my stitches!  (3) I haven't done embroidery in years and had some difficulty transferring the pattern to the fabric, but I managed.  Gini offered a suggestion to use Saral transfer paper so I've ordered some to try.  

I used a white on white fabric for my snowman instead of felt or wool & I'm happy with the way it turned out.  Here's my block:

We look forward to seeing everyone's block and hearing about any challenges you may have experienced too!

Have a great day!

• Post Points: 185
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 11,657
Points 136,077

PatriciaFaye, love your block.  I am doing fusible on these, i have everything on my background just not sewed down yet

[Ava, Missouri

• Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor