Top 10 Posters

How do you create your own quilt patterns?

Page 1 of 2 (29 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 28 Replies | 9 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 22
Points 610
Latasha Posted: Fri, Jan 9 2015 2:38 PM

Hello Everyone!

I am a beginner quilter and I would like to create my own quilt pattern. However, I do not know how to go about making a pattern. I just recently brought a minky layer cake, that I would like to make something with. Has anyone use the Electric Company quilt design software? 

• | Post Points: 80
Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 200
Points 2,545
MizPat replied on Fri, Jan 9 2015 5:46 PM

Hi Latasha,

If you have Electric Quilt, work through the lessons in the book that comes with it. If you aren't sure you want to get that involved, EQ has Quilt Wizard design software, that has a little less complex capability. It can link to EQ if you decide to move up. I have EQ 7 and love it! I've had every version of EQ since the beginning and every version is such a huge improvement in the capabilities of the program. Go to www.electricquilt.com and check out all the different sites they have. There is a group on this site that offers help and encouragement. Sorry, I can't remember the official name of the group, but look for EQ or Electric Quilt.

Easiest way to learn EQ? Play with it! There are so many fun and amazing things you can do.

Keep us posted on your progress and welcome to your new addiction.

in Albuquerque

It's Quilting! You're supposed to be having fun!

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,804
Points 420,834
gini replied on Sat, Jan 10 2015 12:05 AM

I do a draft on graph paper or draw it on butcher paper

gini in north idaho

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 22
Points 610
Latasha replied on Sat, Jan 10 2015 12:51 PM

That is a great idea, gini! I never thought to use butcher paper. Thanks for the idea!

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 22
Points 610
Latasha replied on Sat, Jan 10 2015 12:57 PM