Hand basting question

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 5 Replies | 2 Followers

Top 25 Contributor
Female
6,403 Posts
Points 133,495
Judy T-Bellingham posted on Sun, Aug 24 2014 11:42 AM

I'm new at this, I've always pin basted my quilts. I'm trying hand basting and would like some feedback. Hopefully the basting stitches show up in the picture, I increased the contrast. It's the red threads.

Am I doing this right? Are the stitches too close, too far apart, too big, too small? I did the video lessons on Craftsy.com and watched a couple other videos. But I'm still not sure I'm doing it right.

2nd question. When I actually do the quilting, do I stitch right over the basting stitches or do I remove them as I go? If I stitch over them aren't they hard to remove once I've completed the quilting?

By the way these are mostly 2" squares to give you some idea of the size of my stitches.

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

• | Post Points: 20

All Replies

Top 150 Contributor
Female
706 Posts
Points 11,595
Bev replied on Sun, Aug 24 2014 2:15 PM

Judy, I went back to Youtube and watched Hand Basting a quilt part 2 and her stitches look like yours. In one video I watched she says not to quilt over your basting stitches and remove them when needed in area you want to quilt. I saw the post on your practice quilting and you are doing great keeping your stitches the same size which is more important than trying to get a certain number of stitches per inch. 

from TN

Top 25 Contributor
Female
6,403 Posts
Points 133,495

Bev :

Judy, I went back to Youtube and watched Hand Basting a quilt part 2 and her stitches look like yours. In one video I watched she says not to quilt over your basting stitches and remove them when needed in area you want to quilt. I saw the post on your practice quilting and you are doing great keeping your stitches the same size which is more important than trying to get a certain number of stitches per inch.