Seeing the quilt

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 14 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
5 Posts
Points 115
Tiff posted on Wed, Jul 9 2014 5:34 AM

Hi All,

i am new to quilting and have only made 3 but have never done a clever pattern on the quilt when finishing it. I've only ever done straight lines etc... Can someone tell me how ppl do all those fancy patterns?

Thank you

Tiff

• | Post Points: 20

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,424 Posts
Points 415,964
gini replied on Wed, Jul 9 2014 4:57 PM

hi Tiff, welcome to the group.I was crumby at doing straight lines so I started out of the gate with free motion.   practice practice practice.     get yourself a piece of paper and start drawing repetitive patterns like you might do on a quilt.   check out leah days blog, day style designs, and check out the inbox jaunt BlogSpot for ideas.  are you using your domestic machine or a long arm?  

gini in north idaho

Not Ranked
5 Posts
Points 115
Tiff replied on Wed, Jul 9 2014 10:45 PM

I'm that new to it all I've got no idea what you mean by a domestic machine or long arm lol...?

ive just been doing straight lines on my machine. So your telling me I have to freehand a design  haha I'm terrible at drawing :(

thanks for your reply :)

Top 10 Contributor
Female
13,459 Posts
Points 244,017
Thea replied on Thu, Jul 10 2014 7:19 AM

Hi, These are my own definitions!

Domestic machine - your regular sewing machine that you use when sewing

Long Arm - a machine on a long table that has a very large throat space that sews very fast but only does a straight stitch...

Free Motion quilting - if you ever doodled in school on your folder covers(does this date me) or just scribbled on paper then you have the start to doing free motion...