Joining pieces of batting

Page 1 of 2 (25 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 24 Replies | 8 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 230
Points 6,005
Sharon Posted: Thu, Mar 25 2010 8:20 AM

I'm looking for ideas about how to best join pieces of batting. I quilt on my home machine, and occasionally need to piece batting prior to sandwiching. I've been using the 3-step zig-zag, with the edges of the pieces butted up together. One of the pieces always winds up shorter than the other, and doesn't lay flat.  What technique works best?

Sharon

• | Post Points: 110
Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 335
Points 11,972

Sharon of Raleigh:
I'm looking for ideas about how to best join pieces of batting.

Sharon,

I've only done it once, so I'm no expert, but mine did work. I lived in Norway at the time and couldn't find batting wide enough for a queen size quilt without piecing it. I butted the two pieces of batting next to each other, and stitched them together by hand. What I did was to anchor the thread, then take one stitch parallel to and on one side of the seam, about 1/2 inch long, then go straight across the seam about 1/2 inch, then straight up the same distance on the opposite side and back across. I made sure I wasn't pulling or stretching it, and every once in a while took a small anchoring stitch. The real trick is that I did it on my hands and knees on the floor, starting in the middle, going up one side to the end, then from the middle down. Afterwards, a bubble bath helped.

Judy J.

Nambe, New Mexico

• | Post Points: 5
Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 448
Points 5,660
CJ Hines replied on Thu, Mar 25 2010 9:37 AM

Sharon--I agree with Judy's method--I've done it by hand, using a whipstitch. It worked well. I've also tried the machine zig-zag, but sometimes it does bunch up.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,736
Points 437,165
Nana replied on Thu, Mar 25 2010 9:52 AM

Sharon