Top 10 Posters

Machine quilting after binding or before binding?

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 6 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
2 Posts
Points 70
PattyGB posted on Thu, Feb 20 2014 11:20 PM

Hello quilters,

I'm new to quilting and actually working on my first quilt, although I have been sewing for many years. A friend who has been quilting for years recommends sewing on the binding before home machine quilting it. She says that it is less apt to shrink or warp that way. Everything that I've read seems to say to quilt first and then sew on the binding.  Any experience or recommendations about which to do first?  Thank you.

Patty

All Replies

Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,594 Posts
Points 26,785
Debbie replied on Thu, Feb 20 2014 11:26 PM

Patty - every thing I have been taught says you quilt first, whether hand or machine and then put on the binding.  less likely to have puckers that way.  hope that helps

"I'm just a poor soul who's intentions are good.   Oh, Lord, Please don't let me be misunderstood."

Debbie (dear1953)  

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Female
874 Posts
Points 14,995

Hi Patty, I have never heard of Binding first, quilting last, That's a new one for me.  I have always quilted my quilt, squared it off then bind it. If you bind it first, you can not  square it off,   It would be misshapen . In my opinion.  

MODESTO, CA.
Top 25 Contributor
Female
5,837 Posts
Points 123,680

PattyGB, I agree with the others. Quilt first then bind. If you bind first you are most likely to get puckers and bunching. Doing the binding after quilting allows you to smooth out the puckers as you quilt.

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

• | Post Points: 20
Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,338 Posts
Points 30,455
Agnes replied on Fri, Feb 21 2014 10:59 AM