Page 1 of 2 (16 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 15 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 4
Points 230
Sammylynn87 Posted: Tue, Oct 8 2013 5:19 AM

Hello everyone, I am a active duty military member currently serving in the united states Air Force.  I am brand new to quilting and I am looking for any adive anyone can give me.  I started quilting a few years ago after coming back from Afganistain.  I came home with PTSD and a Panic disorder and I have found that quilting has helped me calm down when it happens.  My biggest problem I am having right now is figureing out my measurments and how big I should make different quilts.  Also I need options on the different kinds of sewing machine.  What should i look for to start also free motion quilting.  I am looking forward to hearing the advice the more advance quilters can give me. 

• | Post Points: 80
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 11,657
Points 136,077

Welcome Sammylynn

[Ava, Missouri

• | Post Points: 20
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,527
Points 31,070
Diana replied on Tue, Oct 8 2013 6:26 AM

Welcome Sammylynn and thank you for your service.  

We enjoy passing along our love of quilting.  If you know the size of the bed your quilt will be used on, decide how far you want it to hang over the sides of the bed.  It may be you need to add a row to both the length and width.  We will help you along with yourquilting, just ask.

Don't in East Tn

Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,151
Points 14,955
Dawn replied on Tue, Oct 8 2013 7:20 AM

Welcome!  So glad you found us!  Yep, just ask your ?'s as you go and there is sure to be someone to help you!  Thank you for your service and will be praying for your safety!

• | Post Points: 5
Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,409
Points 19,530

Welcome Sammy and thank you so much for you service. You will find very friendly and kind people here. Everyone is so generous with their information and help.