I need to ask this question about cutting instructions

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 12 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
Female
24 Posts
Points 675
Annette posted on Tue, Oct 1 2013 12:09 PM

I would like to follow a Mystery Quilt but I have never done anything like this before. I have a question about the cutting instructions. A  specific example: If the cutting instructions read:

Fabric Requirements:

Dark fabric 2 yds 

Cutting instructions

• Cut 1 (12”) strip subcut into 3 (12”) squares Cut the squares in half diagonally twice in X pattern to make 4 triangles per square 
  • Cut 1 (6 1/4”) strip subcut into 2 (6 1/4”) squares Cut each square in half diagonally to make 2 triangles per square 
  • Cut 13 (1”) strips by wof subcut strips into 8 1/2” segments 

Does that mean I need to cut a 12" wide strip from fold to selvage?  And then if I subcut, that would be a 36" piece needed? 

And for the second bullet point, do I need to cut 6 1/4" strip wide from fold to selvage? Because it only says to subcut it into 2 squares so I don't understand how to cut it.

Now the third point I think I do understand, cutting 13 (1") strips all the way from fold to selvage. 

Please help, I am not dumb (although it may appear so) but the last thing I want to do is waste fabric by cutting incorrectly.

These are just some of the cutting instructions, not all.

All Replies

Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,346 Posts
Points 30,555
Agnes replied on Tue, Oct 1 2013 12:30 PM