New from New Mexico - Ethical Quilting: Using Flame Retardant Fabrics/Batting

Page 1 of 3 (37 items) 1 2 3 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 36 Replies | 7 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 16
Points 335
nchavez Posted: Thu, Sep 19 2013 9:10 PM

I'm just starting to quilt. I come from a fashion design background and decided to make three quilts for my nieces and an heirloom quilt for myself. Sewing is not the problem. I bought the Ladies of the Sea quilt pattern and will be making that for myself.

While purchasing supplies I realized that most quilting fabrics and batting are not flame retardant. Yet, I would believe that most of our quilts are made to be used in bed. Because I studied fashion design we were made very aware of laws where children's clothing, pajamas, bedding, etc., MUST be flame retardant. But, if you're sewing something there is no law to protect, children, the elderly, the disabled from fire protection.

Just about all quilting fabric and batting is either 100% cotton or polyester both of which become the Chicago Fire when touched by a flame. This means that if you drop one, just one lit match, the fabric will go up in flames. Some fabrics like polyester don't even need a flame, just a heat source like a hot lightbulb, a hot frying pan, etc., to ignite. I'm sure many of you have been at a buffet where a cloth napkin goes up in flames when it was tied to a metal chafing dish. It wasn't the flame from the heat source it was the heat of the metal pan that ignited the the polyester fabric napkin.

So, I'm paying the extra dollars to buy Quilter's Dream Angel Batting which is 100% flame retardant for all my quilts. I also couldn't find it at any store JoAnnns, Hobby Lobby, Hancock, etc., so I have to get it online I could not with a clear conscience use anything else for my niece's quilts, nor even my own! Just love myself too much.

I would love to hear your thoughts on the subject. Thank you for letting me share.

• | Post Points: 80