Fund raising for quilt guilds

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 7 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
2 Posts
Points 100
Jane Fiandt posted on Sun, Sep 8 2013 4:31 PM

I belong to a guild of about 100 members. Each year we hold a fund raiser called "make it, take it, sew it, grow it."  Guild members bring items to sell via auction. We have held both silent auctions and those sold by an auctioneer. However, it's time for something new. My question is this:  what types of fund raisers have been successful for your group or guild?  I welcome all ideas. 

• | Post Points: 65

All Replies

Top 50 Contributor
Female
1,827 Posts
Points 31,695

I'm new to my guild but they do the same sort of thing with the Silent and Live Auction in December. I don't think all the items are home made though. I think some are donated and then some are by theme. For example, one may be a wine and cheese basket with something in it a quilter has made but it might also include a bottle of wine, cheese, a table runner, a wine bottle carrier, and maybe a cheese cutting board. I haven't attended one. I've just heard them talk about it.

We have also had sewing classes all year where we have made something for a craft fair. If we made one for ourself, we had to make one also for the guild.

We also had a "White Elephant" sale where quilters sold things they no longer wanted and paid the guild 10% of their profits.

Each month, we have a boutique where we sell donated fabric that guild members have donated. It sells pretty cheaply. .... 25 cents for a fat quarter, 50 cents for a half yard, etc....

I think in the past they have had "home tours" in people's homes and displayed member's quilts throughout the home.

There maybe other things but that's all I know of...

• | Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Female
120 Posts
Points 2,155
Viki replied on Sun, Sep 8 2013 5:59 PM