Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 22 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 4
Points 140
Jeneral Lee Posted: Mon, Apr 15 2013 5:12 PM

I won this membership to the website, and I am so excited to be here! I am a self taught quilter in Texas, and I learned most of what I know from quilting shows on PBS and then free videos and tutorials online. I love love love piecing, but machine and hand-quilting scare me. I started just making baby quilts and thing them with yarn. I've moved up to stitching straight rows. I hope one day to quilt pretty designs that enhance the tops I work so hard on. Oh, and binding is also a scary thing. I find piecing relaxing and therapeutic, occasionally frustrating, wholly rewarding. I hope to learn a lot and gain confidence here. I am currently obsessed with traditional blocks and blocks that have a history, but I also love the modern quilts and fabrics that are all over today. I have two quilts in the works and two more in the planning stages. Nice to meet everyone!

Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,179
Points 15,780
Susan replied on Mon, Apr 15 2013 5:31 PM

Jeneral Lee:
binding is also a scary thing
                        Welcome, Lee ! Binding was scary for me, too. After 2 years I finally made myself  hand sew the binding and after a couple of times it wasnt so bad. I still do not like the binding part, like you I love the piecing but now I know I can do it. Practice and Im sure you will not find it scary. You will get a lot of help here as everyone likes to answer your questions. They are a great group of quilters.     What is your name ?        Susan North, Florida

• | Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 11,649
Points 135,957
Leslie replied on Mon, Apr 15 2013 5:49 PM

Welcome Jeneral Lee

[Ava, Missouri

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,289
Points 413,919
gini replied on Mon, Apr 15 2013 6:39 PM

welcome to the group jeneral lee. 

gini in north idaho