In need of Help

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 7 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
5 Posts
Points 160
Tina posted on Tue, Apr 9 2013 7:14 PM

I am working on a quilt " America the Beautiful", by McCall 2011.  I would like to add embroidery or appliqué.  Like the school, I like to add children's faces in the windows.  But the window is 2.5 x 2.5, so they would be very small.  The barn, I would like to add a tractor in the back and some chicken, cow and a pig.  I found a cross for the church.  I want my quilt to look like a town.  I have a brother's embroidery machine.  Can I embroidery something that small?  Or should I use appliqué.  Where am I able to buy these ideas.  I am a beginner at quilting and love it.  I am trying to complete the quilt for the fair.  So I pray for some help.  I am a little nerve, asking for help.  Thank you

• | Post Points: 20

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
Female
9,492 Posts
Points 138,338

Hi Tina,

Most of the small machine embroidery designs I've found usually fit into a 4x4 area. That being said, I think if it was me,  rather than searching and searching for the right designs, and possibly trying to re-size them to fit your space,   I'd go with applique. Hope you enjoy the process of making and embellishing your quilt. Your idea to turn it into looking like a town sounds really neat.

Top 25 Contributor
Female
6,395 Posts
Points 119,521
Patti replied on Tue, Apr 9 2013 9:48 PM

Tina, private message me your address and I will send you some things, like the farm animals that you may be able to use.   You could actually use photos of real kids, etc, printed on fabric for the kids in the windows, etc. 

Patti

Chiliwist Valley

• | Post Points: 35
Top 150 Contributor
588 Posts
Points 10,165