Page 1 of 2 (21 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 20 Replies | 7 Followers

Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 331
Points 5,845
Jenia Posted: Fri, Apr 5 2013 10:37 AM

I have been asked to make a quilt for sale which is a first for me.  I usually give them to family and friends or keep them for myself.

I understand the material costs involved as I am an accountant but what about the time involved?  Is there a going rate? 

This is fun for me, it's not work.  So how do you value your fun time?

I do mine all by hand even the quilting portion.  Is that worth more or less?

People have commented that my stitches look  good..  I try to make nice small evenly spaced stitches so that it's not a flimsy hand-made thing.  It seems almost as good as machine work IMO.

Thank you for your help in advance if you can offer any advise I would greatly appreciate it.

• | Post Points: 65
Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 69
Points 1,905
Terri replied on Fri, Apr 5 2013 1:56 PM

I also quilt for fun, and give many away to friends or raffles.  What I typically do when asked to make one, is let them know the total cost of fabric and supplies.  I usually receive more than I would have asked for, when they pay me.  You do have to be willing to make very little if you do this though, as not everyone appreciates the work put into them.  Good luck!

• | Post Points: 0
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,346
Points 414,824
gini replied on Fri, Apr 5 2013 2:06 PM

i think a rule of thumb is two or three times the cost of supplies

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 35
Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 331
Points 5,845
Jenia replied on Fri, Apr 5 2013 3:15 PM

Hmmm...my particular project that they want to actually resell is an old necktie quilt.   That is they want me to make them a quilt that they are going to resell in a large show in Las Vegas with other "recycled" items such as tables made from old suitcases and such.