Top 10 Posters

First Quilt

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 6 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
15 Posts
Points 210
Taleo posted on Mon, Mar 11 2013 12:07 PM

Hi, I'm new to quilting just finished putting my first one together. Does anyone have any starting suggestions for the quilting part of this project. My quilt is basted and waiting with my sewing machine for my return. Thought I do stitch in the ditch, is that done free motion or  in the conventional way of sewing any object?

• | Post Points: 35

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
Female
6,395 Posts
Points 119,521
Patti replied on Tue, Mar 12 2013 10:49 PM

I think stitch in the ditch is actually easier the conventional way.  It can be hard to keep free motion straight.   Just when you do quilt, start in middle and work out.  Make sure you alternate directions.  Like sew down, then sew up. sew down, etc.  Otherwise the quilt can kind get wonky!

Patti

Chiliwist Valley

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,341 Posts
Points 414,694
gini replied on Wed, Mar 13 2013 9:55 AM

I would make a small quilt sandwich to practice, unlike patti, I found that stippling was way easier, because I didn't need to keep to a straight line.   So fix up an 18 inch practice piece a try some designs,  draw a line and try staying in the line.    I have a practice piece that I use before I start quilting, to loosen up.   Whichever you choose, I know your quilt will be wonderful.

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 35
Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,406 Posts
Points 19,540

I'm like Gini. I keep a practice sandwich all the time so I can practice. I also practice right before I start another quilt. I was so not good at doing stitch in the ditch but that is just me. I think you have to do what is comfortable for you. Everyone feels a comfort level with different things. What ever you decide, I like Gini, think it will be wonderful.

Georgetown CA I'd Rather Be Quilting

• | Post Points: 20