Top 10 Posters

Color problem

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 14 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
4 Posts
Points 140
Dotty D posted on Wed, Feb 6 2013 7:48 PM

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie to this forum. I havn't been quilting for long but I'm addicted to it already.

I'm hoping someone can advise me which color of thread to use when stitching  white blocks to  navy blue blocks. I do my patchwork by hand over papers so my stitching shows through a bit more than machining would.  Can anyone tell me what the general rule is in this situation?

• | Post Points: 95

All Replies

Top 50 Contributor
2,831 Posts
Points 39,980

Dottie you could always use red and it would be a patriotic quilt.  Just an idea.

Quilting My Rainbow

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
27,727 Posts
Points 437,045
Nana replied on Wed, Feb 6 2013 8:23 PM

Dotty

I would probably try something in the grey family.

Vinton, Virginia

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
11,656 Posts
Points 136,082

Dotty, welcome,  I mostly use light grays and off white

[Ava, Missouri

Top 10 Contributor
Female
24,951 Posts
Points 368,307
Kris replied on Wed, Feb 6 2013 8:33 PM

I agree with Nana on the grey thread. 

Make your stitches a bit tighter so they don't show through. Pull tight then smooth it with your fingers.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,458 Posts
Points 416,719
gini replied on Thu, Feb 7 2013 1:15 AM

if you use thread the same as your white,  stray threads won't show through as easily

gini in north idaho

Top 10 Contributor
Female
19,778 Posts
Points 248,014

Dotty I to use alot of light gray its seems to blend in well . I but the big cone of it and it last a lot time before I have to get new .

Liberty,Missouri

EAT!! SLEEP !! QUILT!!

Top 10 Contributor
Female
13,529 Posts
Points 177,453
Marie replied on Thu, Feb 7 2013 3:51 PM

Dotty, welcome!  I go along with the grey as well.

Millbury, MA

Not Ranked
4 Posts
Points 140