rated by 0 users
This post has 15 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 56
Points 1,355
Sara Posted: Fri, Feb 1 2013 1:35 AM

Hi,

My name is Sara and I am from Flagstaff, AZ. I am new to quilting and here as well. I am in the process of finishing my first quilt. I hope to have it done in the next couple of weeks. I am a stay at home mom and have a daughter with special needs. The quilt I am making is for her so it is very colorful with lots of contrasting colors. I wanted it to be visually interesting for her. I look forward to learning all kinds of wonderful tips here. 

• | Post Points: 50
Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 764
Points 9,979
Rhonnie replied on Fri, Feb 1 2013 1:39 AM

Welcome Maooose! I think you will be pleased here. Pull up a chair and be prepared to sit awhile. There is tons of information available and wonderful people to chat with and learn from. If you have questions, ideas or just a thought share and make yourself at home. How old is your daughter? Please let us know how she loves her quilt.

I'm a material girl....Want to see my fabric collection?

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 56
Points 1,355
Sara replied on Fri, Feb 1 2013 1:47 AM

Rhonnie,

Thank you for the welcome. My daughter is 16. She has a very rare syndrome called Aicardi Syndrome. You can google it to find out more. She has seen bits and pieces of her quilt as it has come together and she gets wide eyed each time she looks at it so I think that is a good sign! LOL!  I was going to tie the quilt but didn't like the look of it, then I thought I would hand quilt it. I have decided that I am just not great at that and was having issues with the fabric puckering on the backside of my practice pieces so I have decided to machine quilt it by stitching the ditch with my sewing machine. I am looking forward to getting it done and using it.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 11,653
Points 136,022

Hi Sara, welcome

[Ava, Missouri

Top 25 Contributor