Wash fabric or not???

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 15 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
30 Posts
Points 690
KathyAnn posted on Tue, Jan 22 2013 8:22 PM

I am only a beginner and was taught in my class that I did not need to prewash fabric ever as long as I use premium fabric. Now that I'm halfway thru I'm worried that the wine colored fabric will bleed. And I have purchased fabric for my next quilt and it has a lot of reds and wine colored fabric and I'm afraid of bleeding when the quilt is washed for the first time. Opinions or experience please???

Also I am going to use some jelly rolls as some precut strips and what is the best way to prewash them without ending up with a tangled mess?

• | Post Points: 50

All Replies

Top 100 Contributor
Female
703 Posts
Points 11,570
Bev replied on Tue, Jan 22 2013 8:31 PM

I have to say I have never thought about pre washing jelly rolls, layer cakes or charm squares.  Whether to pre wash or not seems to be a personal preference or depends on what you are making. I have decided for me not to pre wash but use the products made to "catch the color" when I do need to wash a quilt. I will be watching for answers by more experienced quilters though!  

from TN

• | Post Points: 5
Top 25 Contributor
Female
5,719 Posts
Points 121,420

KathyAnn.  You're going to get a wide range of opinions. But one I think most everyone agrees with is not to prewash the jelly roll strips. 

If you already have a quilt partly constructed and are worried it may bleed when washed, use the Shout color catcher when you wash the quilt.

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

• | Post Points: 20
Top 25 Contributor
Female
5,719 Posts
Points 121,420

I don't know if this actually works, but it's an interesting tidbit. I found it on one good thing website  Has anyone made their own color catchers?