Top 10 Posters

Templates - I need a how to

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 20 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
35 Posts
Points 1,355
LearningDayByDay posted on Sat, Dec 29 2012 9:29 AM

I've told myself no more fabric buying until I use up a major portion of what I have  . . . . so I have a small number of quilts in mind to make.  I'm still a major beginner in this, having made only 4 quilts and some small pillows - all of which used squares, rectangles and a very small number of triangles.

The next quilt I want to make is labeled beginner but requires the use of  two templates to make approximately 700 pieces.  I've never used a template before so this is all new to me and I'm not even sure what questions I need to ask you about this.  So I'll ask what I think I need to know, answer what you can and add anything else.

My first and main question is what do I need to buy at the shop to be able to make a template?  I'm headed there later today and don't want to go in feeling totally stupid.  My pattern requires the use ot two different templates, one being the major one and covering about 95% of the pattern.  This one is a triange shape.  Will I be cutting out 680 individual pieces or will it be similar to cutting squares where I cut one long strip and then triangles from that?  (and if it's just a triangle to I really need a template?)

Please share with me what you can about templates, since I've never used them I'm not sure what I'm getting into.

Thanks, Ellie

• | Post Points: 110

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,415 Posts
Points 415,724
gini replied on Sat, Dec 29 2012 9:40 AM

hi ellie, can we have more specifics on your templates and what kind of triangles you are making?   how big they are, etc.

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
801 Posts
Points 16,020
Sue replied on Sat, Dec 29 2012 9:44 AM