Shopping for fabric at sales

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 7 verified answers | 17 Replies | 6 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Female
104 Posts
Points 1,780
Bandmama posted on Thu, Dec 27 2012 7:56 PM

I'm still fairly new at all of this.  The patterns I've made so far have either been from a book or class and those had the fabric requirements and color suggestions.  My local shop is having their year end blow out sale tomorrow and Saturday and I'm thinking about picking up some fabric.  I don't really have a specific quilt in mind to know the exact details.  I'd like to make a green quilt this year (hopefully in time for St. Patty's Day) and a Bears Paw (if I can ever find the magazine or book I bought that had the pattern in it lol).  My bed is a queen size and my kids both have a regular and twin.

So my question is this.  When you guys shop sales do you go with with specific yardage needs in mind or do you just pick fabric you like and buy some of it.  How much is a decent amount to purchase to be useable for a future quilt?  I'm thinking a couple of yards at least.  I was there earlier today and they have some beautiful red and pink on white and cream florals that are marked down to $3/yard!  Buying whatever is left on the bolt gets you a 40% discount and a 2 yard minimum is 30% off.  I have 2 HUGE tubs of fabric that my Mom gave to me that she bought from her quilt store but has decided she does not have time to quilt so I don't really need the stash.  I just thought it would be nice to pick up some pretty pinks, creams & greens and some jewel tones and support my local shop at the same time.

Any suggestions?

Lucy

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 10 Contributor
Female
13,618 Posts
Points 247,317
Answered (Verified) Thea replied on Thu, Dec 27 2012 7:59 PM
Verified by Bandmama

A fabriholic in the making...teehee