What are colour value, tonals, etc.?

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 7 Replies | 1 Follower

Top 100 Contributor
Female
731 Posts
Points 18,320
Brigit-Carol posted on Wed, Nov 7 2012 8:14 AM

I'm involved (or trying to be) in two mystery quilts and having problems picking fabrics that match.  I keep hearing terms about making sure color tonals are not too close or matching colour values.  Realising I'm a newbie, could someone please explain these terms?  Also, someone mentioned using a red/green gizmo (sorry can't remember the actual term) to test whether the colours were right.  When I make a quilt, I make sure that there are colours in common between the various fabrics.  But I gather that is not the way to go?  Many thanks.

Brigit-Carol

• | Post Points: 80

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
Female
6,401 Posts
Points 119,611
Patti replied on Wed, Nov 7 2012 9:13 AM

I have learned from the mystery quilts, and Nana, so much about what works in this regard.  If you go back and look at the quilts from previous MQs it will be easy to see that the best were those that paid attention to light, dark and medium.  I have had a couple MQs where I thought just having contrast between the colors, was enough, and they all had medium value.  It came out too busy and the pattern was lost.  I couldn't see the stars.   A table runner I did had fabrics that looked great together.  But sewn together, the pattern was lost. 

Patti

Chiliwist Valley

• | Post Points: 5
Top 25 Contributor
Female
6,401 Posts
Points 119,611
Patti replied on Wed, Nov 7 2012 9:15 AM

One beautiful fabric next to another beautiful fabric makes both look common.   The less bright next to a bright makes the bright stand out.  Or a light, among darks, makes the light glow. 

Patti

Chiliwist Valley

Top 10 Contributor
Female
27,736 Posts
Points 437,180
Nana replied on Wed, Nov 7 2012 9:18 AM