Page 1 of 1 (13 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 12 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 20
Points 225
bixler Posted: Sun, Nov 4 2012 11:21 AM

Hello,

I am fairly new to quilting; I have made 2 wall hangings, a TV quilt for my granddaughter and am currently working on a queen size bed quilt for hubby (the yellow brick road pattern).  I am also in a block of the month working on the Amish With a Twist quilt at my local quilt shop here in Arnold, Mo.  I purchased a pattern yesterday when I was in St. Charles, Mo.  There was a sample on the quilt shop wall and I fell in love with it.  The pattern is Star Spin Quilt by Oregon Treasures.  I have also seen this quilt on the Amish web sites and it is gorgeous.  However, after looking through the pattern, it seems very confusing.  Has anyone ever attempted this quilt?  Do you think perhaps I need a little more experience before I attempt this quilt?  Any responses would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks so much for listening

Sandy

• | Post Points: 65
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,106
Points 410,869
gini replied on Sun, Nov 4 2012 11:47 AM

hi sandy,  it isn't hard, but you do need to make  set-in seams.  if you are comfortable with the projects you have already made, go to you-tube and find some videos on set-ins. watch a couple of them, then go for it.

if you don't try out new techniques, you'll never learn them.  even "old pro" quilters balk at set in seams.   that is until you do an entire quilt out of them.   once you get a few blocks  under your belt, you'll wonder what all the fuss was about.

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,106
Points 410,869
gini replied on Sun, Nov 4 2012 11:49 AM

set-in seams go a bit slower that just straight line piecing, and i think that we are so focused on production that we forget how rewarding it is to take the time to do a more complicated pattern. 

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female