rated by 0 users
This post has 18 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 2
Points 130
mom2mcl Posted: Wed, Aug 8 2012 11:27 AM

Hi, all! 

I've been lurking around here for about 9 months, so I thought it was time I stepped forward and said hello!  I'm a newbie-quilter.  I wanted to make a t-shirt quilt for my daughters high school graduation.  Thanks to google, you tube, several how to books, and a very basic knowledge of my sewing machine, I jumped in with both feet and within two weeks last October I had it completed... but I had also been bitten by the quilting bug.  Since then I made a denim rag quilt to drag to my son's football games this fall, pieced a lap quilt using a pattern that I saw in a magazine (still needs to be sandwiched and quilted), completed another t-shirt quilt for the son of a dear friend, and started a "spring" table runner for my dining room table (but it is FAR from complete!)  I also discovered English Paper Piecing.  I plan to make a grandmothers flower garden quilt.  Right now I'm busily basting hexies... occasionally actually putting a flower together.  I love that it is so portable and I can do that while watching ball games, traveling, and most importantly visiting with DH or other friends.

Little bit about me that doesn't deal with sewing/quilting... I'm a farmwife in the cornfields of Nebraska, mom to 3 busy kids, avid photographer (my kids call me "mom-arazzi"), scrapbooker, and I'm a football/nascar fanatic.

Anxious to get to know all of you better!

Kris (mom2mcl)

• | Post Points: 125
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 4,854
Points 85,760
Sukochi replied on Wed, Aug 8 2012 12:46 PM

Hi, Kris. Welcome.

Re: newbie quilter. Honey you are so far beyond newbie. Newbies start out slow, take lots of classes then jump in the deep end. You started in the deep end. I would say that you were a quilter in another life (if you believe in that).. Sounds like your kids are certainly proud of there all over the place Mom.