Page 2 of 2 (22 items) < Previous 1 2 | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 21 Replies | 7 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 23
Points 555

Great suggestions!  I WILL TRY THEM.

I am a retired teacher.  A rotten typist- always hitting the wrong buttons.  I have one son and live in a southwest suburb of Chicago.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,538
Points 23,145
Susie replied on Mon, Jun 18 2012 9:21 AM

Welcome Kathleen!

Where abouts in Chicago-land are you?  I'm in Palatine...and it sounds like you stopped by my LQS-where they are not very friendly at all.  I much prefer Joanns out of the sheer customer service aspect.

I don't have a Pfaff, but I have a dear friend who has let me play with hers.  I'm not very comfortable with it, but I"m learning.  The one thing I have learned with the touch screen, is that it's similar to a computer--you can always go "back" to the previous menu.

My suggestion is to get some scrap fabric and just start playing around to see what everything does.  I'm not a good one for classes, I prefer hands on where I can touch, see and feel my way around to get comfortable.

Chicagoland, Illinois

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 13,265
Points 173,178
Marie replied on Mon, Jun 18 2012 10:00 AM

Kathleen Johnston:
The Pfaff dealer nearest to me will not give me lessons on the machine or allow me into any of the Pfaff clubs/-if I gain competence

Well shame on him!  You should let Pfaff know that particular dealers policy, bet they won't like it.  Does he know you inherited it?    In the mean time Sukochi had some good ideas especially hiring someone, one on one, to teach you.  Private lessens are great!

Millbury, MA

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 13,314
Points 154,598

Welcome Kathleen.  I wonder if one of us QCAers has the same machine as yours.  If yes, I am sure they would be a good source of info.  I know that we all help each other out on here. 

Marge (AKA Dimples)