Page 1 of 1 (7 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 6 Replies | 2 Followers

Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,330
Points 18,765
erindipity Posted: Tue, May 29 2012 6:26 PM

I'm new to quilting ( about a month) and going tomorrow to buy fabric and goodies.  The quilt shop I am going to is over an hour away and they have over 2400 bolts of fabric. Since it is a pretty good drive I plan on buying A LOT! 

I know not to go for thin stuff that stretches and pulls apart easily, but what are some good brands that you use and are satisfied with?

I have about 30 FQ and a couple Jelly Rolls but want to have more fabric choices when I am bored and want to start a new project.  Is it a good idea to buy 1/2 yards or should I go with at least 1 yard of each fabric I choose? I do have a couple quilt patterns picked out and know what yardage I need for them, but to build up a stash are 1/2 yards sufficient?

Thanks in advance...Erin

Piece, Love, Quilt

• | Post Points: 65
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,741
Points 436,715
Nana replied on Tue, May 29 2012 6:34 PM

Erin

If you are buying from a LQS you probably don't have to worry about brands.  Most all of them are good.  I always buy in 3 yd cuts unless I already know what I am using it for.   With 3 yds you can do about any pattern that you find.   Have fun with your shopping trip.  There is nothing better than wondering around a quilt shop.

Vinton, Virginia

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,636
Points 140,668
Stephanie replied on Tue, May 29 2012 6:36 PM

Hi Erin,

Personally, I tend to make larger quilts so I usually buy three to four yards of a fabric I really like. Building a stash for applique, table runners, or scrappy quilts you'd be ok to buy the 1/2 yards, but you'd still need yardage for backgrounds. Keep in mind that by the time you get ready to make your quilt the fabric may no longer be available. They are usually gone in less than a year.