Top 10 Posters

Buying a sewing machine

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 18 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
1 Posts
Points 140
quiltedchicken posted on Tue, Mar 27 2012 5:37 PM

I am a newbie. Is the Singer Confidence Quilter a decent machine?   I would love to have a Baby Lock or such, but can't afford the investment yet.  I need to replace a Kenmore sewing machine that has been around since my mother taught me to sew 30+ years ago.  I would love to machine quilt on it too.  Does anyone know anything about the Singer machine?  Is it a decent starter?  

• | Post Points: 140

All Replies

Top 75 Contributor
1,368 Posts
Points 19,465

I have heard a lot of negative comments about Singer machines unless it's the Heavy Duty model.  I owned one briefly many years ago and got rid of it after a couple years because I didn't like it.  I know it's not fair to compare a 30+ year old machine with the ones made today but the experience soured me on Singers.  Go to sewing.patternreview.com and check out the reviews on the machine you're interested in.  You will get opinions of owners.

If you have a Kenmore, you may be interested in checking out the Janome machines.  Janome made Kenmore for many years.  I've been told by my Janome dealer that Singer is now making Kenmore machines so you may find some recent Kenmores at Janome dealers because some have bought up all the remaining machines from the manufacturer.

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
2 Posts
Points 40

Been sewing and quilting for many years.  I was introduced to Janome seven years ago.  Just purchased my third one.  They are truly wonderful machines.  My new one is the Horizon 7700 (quilting version).  It's amazing, however it is quite pricey (worth every penny).  I know that Janome has a small machine that is very user-friendly.  I believe it costs about $200.  You can go on up from there.  You won't be disappointed.  Good luck.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 75 Contributor
1,368 Posts