Top 10 Posters

Time for a new machine?

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 23 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
10 Posts
Points 225
Beth posted on Sat, Nov 19 2011 12:57 PM

Hello everyone~   I'm pretty new to this site, though I've been quilting for several years.  I'm sure the question I'm about to ask has been asked before (i.e. feel free to direct me elsewhere if there is an older discussion with the answers I'm looking for)!

My 22 year old Singer just broke.  No idea what's wrong, though I'm sure I could have it fixed.  But after 22 years, I'm thinking I deserve a new machine - one bought with quilting in mind , which the current one definitely wasn't.  (And if I'm spending money, I'd rather buy a new machine than repair such an old one.)

What brands do you recommend?

What features should I be looking for?

• I don't attempt any actual quilting on my current machine, just piecing.  (Though with a newer, more appropriate machine, I might try it on smaller items)
  • Very occasionally I do machine applique.
  • My budget is very modest - $200 - $300 range.
  • My sewing cabinet is even older than my machine, and it probably isn't in the budget to get a newer one

Any suggestions you have will get me looking in the right direction, so thanks!

Beth

• | Post Points: 80

All Replies

Top 75 Contributor
1,368 Posts
Points 19,455

It's hard to recommend a brand in a particular price range.  You should go to dealers in your area and see what they offer at your price point.  Tell them what you want to use the machine for and then test drive them.  They may have a very nice used machine that was traded in that would fit your needs.

It is important to have a dealer that will give you classes on machine operation and stand behind it with service.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Female
1,059 Posts
Points 13,715
Carey replied on Sat, Nov 19 2011 2:22 PM