Top 10 Posters

Backstiching and seam allowance

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 4 verified answers | 15 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
5 Posts
Points 255
KaylaJo posted on Wed, Nov 9 2011 11:01 AM

These are probably very simple questions, but I am relatively new to quilting. I'm working on my 3rd now. I just saw a Fons and Porter video where they did chain sewing on their quilt blocks. She never back-stiched to lock the seams. I am assuming that they seams were locked when she pieced them with others. When, if ever, do you backstich when doing piecing?

Also, when you're doing a 1/4 in seam allowance how do you make sure that it's perfect and consistent without marking every piece? My stitch plate on my sewing maching does not have a 1/4 in marker.

Thanks so much!

• | Post Points: 65

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,484 Posts
Points 43,625
Verified by KaylaJo

You can buy a 1/4 inch quilting foot for some machines, they have a little edge that you run the fabric along, some mark the machine with a strip of tape, may options.  You don't have to backstich because you will be sewing over every seam when you put the blocks togeather.  when you have the blocks assembled into a quilt top, some stich around the edge (or not)

• | Post Points: 25
Top 150 Contributor
Female
461 Posts
Points 9,665
Answered (Verified) Flojo replied on Wed, Nov 9 2011 11:09 AM
Verified by KaylaJo

Jo213,

The only time I back stitch is on the very outside seams after putting the quilt together where they will not be crossed by another seam.  If it has a border, I back stitch at the ends of the last two borders I put on.