Page 1 of 1 (8 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 7 Replies | 4 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 986
Points 24,705
MaryLeeHayden Posted: Sun, Oct 23 2011 9:08 AM

This is probably a stupid question but I've been quilting for more than a decade but know nothing about quilt guilds. Can you belong to more than one? I always thought you had to be a "professional" quilter to belong to a guild. I'm still a beginner due to an 8 year illness that pretty much kept me from doing anything. Should I just dive in and join one or more?

• | Post Points: 80
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 13,713
Points 248,462
Thea replied on Sun, Oct 23 2011 9:11 AM

Mary - you can belong to as many quilt guilds as you want!  We have several in my area - and I too was in awe of them when I first went - but I was sadly diasappointed.  I thought when I first went that they would help me to learn how to quilt but they are there for a social event and to see a speaker... that was my first impression of a guild.  The 2nd guild - which I still belong to today - has a great time - they love everyone that walks in the door and treat you wonderfully - they have a demonstration of quilting every meeting and are willing to help all the newbies out there like I was once upon a time.  

Jump in and Join - don't be in awe - go and listen to the speakers that they get - I hope you have a good one to join.  Some are really great and most really are great - I find now that I go and look for something that will give me inspiration - which usually is the show and share... 

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,117
Points 29,755
Ramona replied on Sun, Oct 23 2011 9:47 AM

Mary,